Artist Casessi Gabrielo Bartolomeo

Country: Russian Federation
City: Saint-Petersburg

From the end of the 18th century and during the 19th century, a study period in Italy formed part of the artistic training of many Russian painters, including F. Matveev, S. Shchedrin, O. Kiprensky and K.Bryullov, to name but a few. The obverse of this artistic voyage was for an Italian artist to travel to Russia to study and be instructed: a far more infrequent occurrence, but a path travelled by the artist of the present lot, Gabriel Bartholomew Casessi.

Born in southern Italy in 1840, Casessi studied as an artist in Florence and Rome from 1860-1870. Meeting Aivazovsky at an exhibition of the artist in Rome, 1874, was to be a pivotal moment in the life of the young Italian artist as he acquainted himself with the great marine painter's oeuvre while Aivazovsky continued to exhibit that year in Europe. In 1878, at the invitation of Aivazovsky, Casessi went to Feodosia to further his knowledge of the art of marine painting under the tutelage of his famous mentor. From this time, Casessi's marine paintings were influenced heavily by Aivazovsky's style and technique, as apparent in the present lot.

In 1880, Aivazovsky invited his students and friends to exhibit their works alongside him in his exhibition space; among the artists showing his work with that of Casessi was L.F. Lagorio, another Italian who studied painting in Russia. Returning to Italy in 1884, Casessi continued to paint but focused on landscapes and still lifes. He died in 1900, the same year as Aivazovsky.

Work list
Painting (Picture) : still life
1870 y. / 35x60 cm
Contract price

Изготовление картин на заказ

Стильные картины для интерьера

Художник Габриело Касесси Бартоломео

Страна проживания: Россия
Город: Санкт-Петербург

C конца 18 и в течение 19 века русские художники Ф.Матвеев,О. Кипренский,А.А. Иванов,К. Брюллов и многие другие черпали вдохновение в итальянских пейзажах и приезжали в Италию для продолжения своего художественного образования. Также известны случаи, когда итальянские живописцы посещали Россию для обучения. Ярким примером такого художника является Габриело Бартоломео Касесси.

Касесси родился на юге Италии в 1840 году, в 1860-1870-е годы художник получает художественное образование во Флоренции и Риме. Встреча с великим русским маринистом Айвазовским на его выставке в 1874 году стала ключевым моментом в творчестве Касесси. Впечатленный искусством мастера, Касесси по приглашению Айвазовского едет в Феодосию обучаться мастерству великого мариниста. С этого момента большинство картин Кассесси пропитаны сильным влиянием стиля Айвазовского, что и наблюдается в представленном на торги лоте. Подобно учителю, Касесси стремится передать природу в живом движении: то в виде спокойных штилей, то в образе грозной стихии.Его работы, изображающие широкие просторы моря и неба,всегда полны поэтичности и чувственности.

В 1880 году Айвазовский открыл галерею, в которой он разместил свои творения наряду с работами Кассесси и Ф.Лагорио, другого итальянского последователя Айвазовского. Вернувшись в Италию, Касесси продолжает писать, но его творчество уже сконцентрировано вокруг пейзажей и натюрмортов. Умер художник в 1900 году, почти одновременно с Айвазовским.



Список работ
Картины (живопись) : Натюрморт
1870 г. / 35x60 см
Договорная



Стильные картины для интерьера